The Mill House is over 140 years old. It was built in 1863 by Thomas Reeves. Reeves owned and operated a saw and gristmill on Kressey Lake until 1929. The Mill house served various owners, one of the most well known was Pitman’s Mayor Truckness. Wayne R. Groff Sr. started a landscape company in 1959 and in 1962 Wayne and Sarah Groff bought the property. They established the nursery and garden center at the Mill House in 1964. The Groff family resided in the Mill House until 1975. In 1976 Sarah Groff converted the Mill House into a unique Christmas gift shop.
The quaint Mill House Gift Shop is decorated with a wide variety of holiday gifts and collectables. Rooms are all personally decorated for each season and feature Byers Choice and Department 56 Village collectables. The gift shop manager provides a personal touch during the holiday season serving cider and cookies.